I was out to coffee with my friend Ted when we got to talking about what we do and how we ended up there. “My current job just sort of fell into my lap,” I tell Ted while munching on the PB&J I brought with (yes, I’m that cheap). Ted (just as cheap, twice as wise) reminds me of the process in which my current job “fell into my lap” and how off my conception of ‘luck’ was:

Keep your feet, little guy

While working my last job I sought out and cold-called someone who worked there for an informational interview, came to a workshop event they were hosting to check the place out (and ended up helping out during the event), sent an e-mail to the clinical director, sent a resume and cover letter in, spent a month as a candidate (interviewing and being part of staff meetings and groups as a tentative employee), went to lunch with the clinical director and his wife, and then turned down a different job offer before I knew 100% that it would work out.

Yeah, I guess it didn’t just “fall into my lap”

Because of what I got in the end it felt like luck. It is a great job doing what I love and working with people I respect. However, that ‘lucky’ happy ending would have never been possible if it wasn’t for all of the hard work and risk I put in on the front end.

Thomas Jefferson once said, “I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it.” You can’t make any one thing happen, but you can pretty well guarantee something will never happen if you don’t put in the work to create opportunities. Do you hold yourself to high standards and create opportunities even if you don’t know what they’ll yield? Are you putting in hard work to benefit yourself even if you don’t have a specific end goal?

